Woman with long brown hair wearing a purple shirt standing in front of a grey backdrop

Ruth Franklin, PhD was named one of two winners of the Roslyn Abramson Award, given annually to assistant or associate professors for excellence in teaching undergraduates. Winners are chosen on their ability to communicate with and inspire undergraduates, their accessibility to undergraduates, their sensitivity to undergraduates’ needs, and their devotion to teaching. Established by Edward Abramson ’57, the award is given annually to two faculty who have demonstrated dedication to teaching and the ability to inspire and nurture students in the classroom. Franklin teaches SCRB 177 “Demystifying Human Immune System”, and First-Year Undergraduate Seminar 53D “The Cure Within: Fighting Cancer with Your Immune System.”

Ya-Chieh Hsu, PhD, was named a Harvard College Professor for her commitment to undergraduate teaching. Hsu is one of five Harvard faculty to receive this award. Among her favorite courses to teach is SCRB 145 “From Cells to Tissues, In Sickness and in Health,” which she has been teaching since 2016. She also earned the Roslyn Abramson Award in 2019.  Read more about Hsu and the other new Harvard College Professors in the Harvard Gazette.

Photo of Ruth Franklin

Ruth Franklin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology
Photo of Ya-Chieh Hsu

Ya-Chieh Hsu, Ph.D.

Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology